logo NCGeo

Tienstra Research Prize

researchprizeCommemoration plate 2004

To promote and to make visible geodetic research in the Netherlands the NCG in 1998 has founded the Prof. J.M. Tienstra Research Prize. The prize is awarded to them who have carried out very useful geodetic research in the Netherlands or to Dutchmen who have done so abroad. The research may be referring to the whole geodetic field and related fields as represented in the NCG. The prize is presented every two years.


The prize obtains as an encouragement for further geodetic research and consists of the amount of 2,500 euro and a commemoration award. The winner can use the amount as extra facility for research, visiting a congress, a study tour, a publication, etc.

The Netherlands Geodetic Commission sets up a jury for every presentation. The jury reviews the idea, the result, the publication and the use of the received nominations.

Only persons will be considered for Prof. J.M. Tienstra Research Prize and only nominations submitted by third persons will be dealt with.

Prof. J.M. Tienstra

Prof. J.M. Tienstra (1895-1951) was a professor and vice-president of the Delft University of Technology. From 1937 he was a member of the Netherlands Geodetic Commission. During the period 1945 - 1947 he was secretary of the Commission and from 1947 he was president until his death in 1951.

Winners of the Prof. J.M. Tienstra Research Prize

  • Ir. Niels F. Jonkman, 1998.
  • Dr. Jantien Stoter, 2004.
  • Dr.Ir. Bastiaan van Loenen, 2010.
  • Dr.Ir. Christiaan Lemmen, 2012.
  • Dr.Ir. Roel Nicolai, 2014.
  • Dr.Ir. Martijn Meijers, 2016.
  • Dr.Ir. Cornelis Slobbe, 2018.
  • dr. Caroline Gevaert, 2020
Go to top
JSN Boot template designed by JoomlaShine.com